8 or 16 channelS

hi there i am new to this forum and i live in the middle east.

i have been sufferring from hearing loss for many years now and at long last the penny has dropped and i have to buy two hearing aids. They are all pretty expensive, but i have been told that the digital ones are the best.

My problem is what to buy? either 8 channels or 16 channels? the difference in price is quite high and the company says either will do.

my hearing problem is this…

i call it third party noise. one-on -one and i have no problem, however if i watch a dvd or i am talking to a person and there is background noise, then all i hear is gibberish. i now have to get dvd’s with subtitles and am being constantly told to turn the t.v down. When i talk on skype or my cell phone, no problem. restaraunts and shopping centers are a night-mare and pubs are the worst as i just cannot understand anything that is being said.

anybody out there can give me some advice it will be really appreciated.
thanks

ronnie

Hi.
I suggest you to post your audiogram.
From what you write I can understand that two hearing aids will be a great help. Because its your first digital and because the company said either will do the job I suggest 8 channels to save the money.
I am using two Phonac Certena (around 1.000 UK pounds each) and when I do not use them I can realise that I am virtually deaf. I mean that the difference is big.
Also I have a question, how the hard of hearing people treated by the societies in the middle east? I guess that your life can be difficult sometimes. I am greek and I know some things.

I am not a professional, but see an Audi then can sell Bernafon Verite

Costco sells these devices, IMHO they are great.

Start with your audiogram. If your hearing loss is Mild or Moderate, you will find affordable 32 channel units at www.americahears.com that you will be able to adjust yourself with your computer (or internet). However, I don’t know about shipping to the middle east…