20 years old with low hearing, how it will evolve?

Hello all!

I’m a twenty years old student with not a good hearing :

I have around -10 (with some low frequencies at -15 but only a few) at left hear and around the same at right ear WITH a decrease around -20 /-25 for 1000 hz and near frequencies.

I’m careful about my ears, i can still hear “well” ( less than other people but it’s still ok) and even if it stress me i stay positive and i’m not feared about Hearing Aids.:o

but i would like to know how my hearing, if i’m careful , will evolve. I just hope that i will not have to deal with high hearing loss at 40-50 years. My ENT say it will evolve slowly and i only have to be normally careful with hearing but if you can share your experience with me it would be nice frm you alll!

Thank you in Advance!

Hi Quentino,

I’ll share my experience. Of course it may turn out differently for you.

I had normal hearing as a child, though exposure to loud sounds like gunshots seemed to make my ears “ring” (a sign of hearing loss) more than other people. But this would be temporary. Rock concerts later caused similar issues, sometimes for a couple of days after the concert. I don’t know what this means- I’m just telling you how it was. Otherwise I had what I feel was normal hearing.

At age 19 I got the flu. I was alone, had no thermometer and nothing to reduce fever. I clearly had a terrible fever, but I don’t know how high it went. The way I have always described my hearing loss is associated with this event. I lost some hearing with this flu, as people commonly do. But after the flu, it didn’t come back.

When it became obvious I had an issue, I went to an ENT. He said I’d eventually be a candidate for hearing aids, but prescribed a drug called Pavabid. This drug helped me hear close to normal for about 10 years. But it eventually either quit working, or wasn’t enough.